Call for Papers


Josef Mäder Saal, University of Applied Sciences Lucerne,
Technikumstrasse 21, CH-6048 Horw-Lucerne, Switzerland
September 8-9, 2011

Scope of the Workshop

Key sectors of modern economies depend highly on ICT. The information flowing through the resulting technological infrastructure as well as the information being processed by the complex computing systems that underpin these are critical as their disruption, disturbance or loss can lead to high economical, material and, sometimes, human loss. As a consequence, the security, reliability and resilience of these infrastructure becomes critical and their protection a major objective for governments, companies and the research community. The topic of Critical Information Infrastructure Protection (CIIP) is in the Agenda of the Governments of the major industrial countries worldwide.

CRITIS’11 Workshop is aimed at exploring new challenges posed from Critical Information Infrastructure Protection, bringing together researchers and professionals from academia, industry and governmental Agencies interested in all different aspects of CIIP. An additional goal of the Workshop is to promote a multi-disciplinary approach within the scientific communities at national, European and trans – European level.

Authors are solicited to contribute to the Workshop by submitting research papers, work-in-progress reports, R&D project results, surveying works and industrial experiences describing significant advances in the following areas of Critical Information Infrastructures Protection. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Resilient Information  Infrastructures
  • Internet Resilience and Stability
  • Information Infrastructures Survivability
  • Self-healing, Self-protection, Self- management Architectures
  • Cyber Threats and Vulnerabilities
  • Cyber Security and SCADA Systems Vulnerability
  • Cyber Attacks and Cyber Defense of SCADA Systems
  • Cyber Security issues of the Smart Grids
  • Cyber Security issues of the Cloud Computing
  • Advanced Forensic Methodologies
  • Infrastructure Interdependencies Modeling & Simulation
  • Network and Organizational Vulnerability Analysis
  • Threats and Attack Modeling
  • Trust Models in Critical Scenarios
  • Public – Private Partnership for Resilience
  • CIIP Polices at National and Cross Border level
  • CIIP R&D Agenda at National and International level

Instructions for Paper Submission

All submissions will be subjected to a thorough blind review by at least three reviewers. Papers should be up to 12 pages in English, including bibliography and well-marked appendices. As in previous years, it is planned to publish conference post-proceedings by Springer Verlag in the LNCS Series. Pre-proceedings will appear at the time of the conference. At least one author of each accepted paper is required to register with the Workshop and present the paper. Paper submission will be done via EasyChair.  To submit a paper, please follow the specific instructions  available at Easychair website.  The submitted paper (in PDF or PostScript format), which should follow the template indicated by Springer, must start with a title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords. However, it should be anonymised with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgements, nor obvious references. Extended and revised versions of the best papers accepted for CRITIS’11, after a further peer-reviewed process, will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Critical Infrastructures  (Inderscience).

Important Dates
Deadline for submission of papers: May 29, 2011
Notification to authors: June 30, 2011
Camera-ready papers: August 10, 2011

Honorary Co-Chairs
Andrea Servida (DG INFSO, European Commission) (Answer pending)
Paolo Verissimo (Universidad de Lisboa)

General Co-Chairs
Bernhard M. Hämmerli (University of Applied Sciences Lucerne, GUC Gjovik and CEO Acris GmbH)
Dimitris Gritzalis  (Athens University of Economics & Business AUEB)

Local Co-Chairs
Stefan Brem (CIP Coordinator, BABS, Switzerland) (Answer pending)
Philippe Schnyder (University of Applied Sciences, Switzerland)

Programme Committee Co-Chairs
Sandro Bologna (AIIC, Italy)
Stephen D. Wolthusen (Gjøvik University College, Norway and Royal Holloway, U. of London, UK)

Programme Committee
(Responses pending)
Robin Bloomfield (City University London, UK)
Matt Broda (Microsoft, UK)
João Batista Camargo (University of São Paulo,Brazil)
Genseric Cantournet (Telecom Italia, Italy)
Emiliano Casalicchio (Università di Tor Vergata, Italy)
Peter Daniel (Selex Communication Ltd, UK)
Gregorio D’Agostino (ENEA, Italy)
Geert Deconinck (K. U. Leuven, Belgium)
Giovanna Dondossola (RSE, Italy)
Stelios Dritsas (Athens Univ. of Economics & Business, Greece)
Myriam Dunn (ETH Centre for Security Studies, Switzerland)
Prof. Dr. Katrin Franke (Gjøvik University College, Norway)
Claudia Eckert (Fraunhofer SIT, Germany)
Steve Furnell (Univ. of Plymouth, UK)
Richard Garber (DRDC Centre for Security Science, Canada)
Stefan Geretshuber (IABG, Germany)
Robert Ghanea-Hercock (British Telecom, UK)
Adrian Gheorghe (Old Dominion University, USA)
Janusz Gorski (Gdansk University of Technology, Poland)
Stefanos Gritzalis (University of the Aegean, Greece)
Chris Johnson (Glasgow University, UK)
Floor Koornneef (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)
Panos Kotzanikolaou (Univ. of Piraeus, Greece)
Eric Luiijf (TNO Defence, Security and Safety, The Netherlands)
Paulo Maciel (Federal University of Pernambuco, Brazil)
Marcelo Masera (EU Joint Research Centre Ispra, European Commission)
Amin Massoud (University of Minnesota, USA)
Tom McCutcheon (Defence Science and Technololgy Laboratory, UK)
Doug Montgomery ( U.S. National Institutes of Standards and Technology, USA)
Igor Nai Fovino (EU Joint Research Centre Ispra, European Commission)
Eiji Okamoto (University of Tsukuba, Japan)
Cirian Osborn (Centre for the Protection of National Infrastructure, UK)
Evangelos Ouzounis (European Network and Information Security Agency, Greece)
Stefano Panzieri (University Roma Tre, Italy)
Dirk Reinermann (German Information Security Agency, Germany)
Andrea Rigoni (Global CyberSecurity Center, Italy)
Steven M. Rinaldi (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
Erich Rome (Fraunhofer IAIS, Germany)
Michael Samsa (Argonne National Laboratories, USA)
William H. Sanders (University of Illinois, USA)
Roberto Setola (Università CAMPUS Bio-Medico, Italy)
Sujeet Shenoi (University of Tulsa, USA)
James P. Smith (Los Alamos National Laboratories, USA)
Angelos Stavrou (George Mason University, USA)
Neeraj Suri (TU Darmstadt, Germany)
Barend Taute (Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, South Africa)
Marianthi Theoharidou (Athens Univ. of Economics & Business, Greece)
Paul Theron (Thales Information Systems Security, France)
Paul Trushell (Attorney General’s Department, Australia)
Rita A. Wells (Idaho National Lab., USA)
Rhys Williams (Centre for the Protection of National Infrastructure, UK)
Annemarie Zielstra (Centre for the Protection of National Infrastructure, NL)

Steering Committee

Bernhard M. Hämmerli (University of Applied Sciences Lucerne, GUC Gjovik and CEO Acris GmbH)
Javier Lopez (University of Malaga, Spain)

Sokratis Katsikas (University of the Aegean, Greece)
Reinhard Posch (Technical Univ. Graz, Austria)
Saifur Rahman (Advanced Research Institute, Virginia Tech, US)
Roberto Setola (Università CAMPUS Bio-Medico, Italy)
Eric Rome (Fraunhofer IAIS, Germany)
Robin Bloomfield (City University London, UK)